Before I make any further posts, I would like to disclose my personal views on Politics and The Obama Administration.

I am indeed a registered Republican and consider myself a Conservative.  To many that know me, this is a hard concept to grasp due to my personality, appearance and nature.  A lot of times using these indicators alone can be misleading and if asked, I am the first one to clear up any preconceived notions.  Of course when generalizing the preconceptions of a Republican and/or Conservative, the first idea that usually comes to mind is the image of  stodgy, white haired, old guys sitting in a smoke filled room with scotch tumblers and club chairs.  I am NOT that old guy.  ;0)  As a matter of fact, I am almost the exact opposite of that profile.  I am young and a female that stands nearly 6ft tall with blonde hair and green eyes.  As far as the stodginess goes, just think the exact opposite and you’ll have a better idea of my personality.  I am definitely outspoken, sometimes loud and sometimes come across as brash…but I am not purposefully rude.  I think that when debating facts and truths should be used and unless asked for, opinions discarded.  I absolutely can’t stand when someone uses their opinions as facts when debating a subject, I hate constant rhetoric, interruptions and really hate when a point is made and with no rebuttal the other side changes the subject.  I believe in concepts of common courtesy, treating others equally and fairly and that respect and trust both have to be earned.  These are concepts that I think apply to everyday life and I hope that any generalizations and/or preconceived notions have at least been addressed.  Now onto the rest. 

As I stated I am of the Conservative school of political thought, but I don’t want to run anyone off so let me share a few details.  I am an advocate of less government, lower taxes and am very much in favor of capitalism.  On hot-button issues, my thoughts tend to meander and take tangents although my opinions are definitive and conservative in the end.  I am pro-life, but really don’t think that it is my place or business to tell anyone else what they should do with their lives/bodies.  I believe in the traditional definition of marriage as between one man and one woman, but I think that all technicalities aside, same-sex couples should have many of the same (if not all of the same) legals rights as traditional married couples.  I am stuck on that word…”marriage”…but I am of the belief that civil unions are the way to go.  On the issue of gun rights and the Second Amendment, I am very much an advocate of an individuals right to bear arms.  I am a former member of the military, have many law enforcement officials in my family and am a proud card carrying member of the NRA.  While my stance may seem cut and dry or black and white, it really isn’t.  I do think that there should be sensible laws in place regarding gun ownership; no guns for criminals/convicted felons, no guns for those accused but not yet convicted of a felony and my most important no-no is no guns for kids.  If you are of the age of majority and are able to defend this country then I think you should be able to defend yourself as well, but anyone under the age of legal consent has no business owning a weapon.

The Obama Administration.  Now there is a hot-button issue if there ever was one.  I did not vote for the man.  I know that I don’t have to explain my reasons however, I would just like to state for the record that I wouldn’t have voted for Hillary either….I wouldn’t have voted for any Democrat that is as liberal as those two.  I do not like Obama’s stances, beliefs and his school of thought, while murky at best, scares the crap out of me most of the time.  While it’s true that I would not have voted for a lefty liberal in any case, but I still did my own research on Barack Obama the person, the politician.  I am a huge critic and skeptic of the Mainstream Media (MSM) and rarely take their “news” at face value.  I will get into that in more detail in a separate post, but suffice to say after reading, researching, listening about Obama, my thoughts pointed to left-wing liberal.  However, even given my sentiments, I know what it is like to be pre-judged and I didn’t want to size up his entire presidency based on his past.  I could only use that as an indicator and stated right from the get-go that while I did not vote for him, he is my President as well and I made a point to give him the benefit of the doubt.  Once again, another subject, another post, another time…but at this point I believe that my first assertions were correct.

I do not want President Obama to fail…..I do want his agenda to fail.  I do not want to see this country become like others, I do not want the death of Capitalism, I do not want to live in a big brother welfare state.  While I want his policies to fail, I do not want the United States to fail and that is where I think his policies will lead us…hence my views on the subject.  I did in fact vote for President Bush (43) twice however, I did not always agree with his policies.  I do not believe that any Administration is perfect nor ever will be, but I do believe that our system as we have always known it, in America is still the best around.

So, that is just a very small percentage of a percentage of my views on life, politics and Obama.  I hope that I gave you enough that you can decide if you want to continue reading….but I also hope that I didn’t give away too much so that you will want to come back for more!  I welcome all ideas, thoughts and opinions on these and other matters and hope to hear from you!

